Choose your Country Click here
(It will allow us to improve your experience on this site)


H1 Club resident hack Pete Richardson has had a hole-in-one, but is now worried it might not count?

I have a bit of a worry about my hole-in-one.

It is one of my proudest golfing moments - alongside winning a quaich at a club competition at Dougalston in Glasgow, but I’m worried not it may not “count”.

The Rules of Golf don’t talk about the validity of a hole-in-one but I have just discovered that the USGA recommends that a hole in one be considered valid:

If made during a round of at least nine holes – CHECK

If the player is playing one ball; a hole in one made in a practice round in which the player is playing two or more balls should not be acceptable - CHECK

If made at a hole with a temporary tee and/or putting green in use, even if the Committee did not specifically define the teeing ground with tee-markers; the length of the hole at the time should be stated on any certificate – NO IT WAS A FULL COUSE SO - CHECK

If attested by an acceptable witness – AHHHHH….

He comes my problem. I was playing a practice round …on my own. Just one ball, and playing as a full round, but on my own non-the-less.

I know I hit the 7-iron tee shot on the 7th at Legend Golf & Safari Resort’s Signature Course into the hole. But no-one was there to see it… on the 8th tee and nobody behind me.

Is that enough?

Well not according to the USGA.

And it seems not according to Golf Monthly in the UK – but is this a rule or a tradition?

But I’m with Tom Gorman, co-owner of the Pompey Club in the USA and a master rules official who has served at the Ryder Cup and PGA Championship.

He says it is valid and explained the central reason why.

He said: “The game of golf is built around integrity.”

Gorman noted that there is “nothing in the rules book” that disqualifies an unwitnessed one-shotter and explained that it falls under the same category of posting a score that you make while playing alone to help establish your handicap.

So, there is no rule against my hole-in-one and I know I did it – but is that enough.

I know I don’t qualify for a fabulous specially commissioned Hugo Boss Watch, which has special criteria, but I know that I have a hole-in-one.

But what do you think?

Is it valid? I bought everyone in the clubhouse a drink if that counts!!!

All news stories